Our Friends From Drinkwater

p2090023.jpgWell they came ready to seed and do some snow shoeing and it’s only April 11th. Our friends from Drinkwater School were back today planting seeds with the 7th grade students getting ready for their own school garden. We hope to have them back soon to get them started with a worm bin and lesson on making good compost.

Mr. T.p2090020.jpg

16 Responses to “Our Friends From Drinkwater”

  1. Mr. Anderson Says:

    Hi Tabby, Forest, Kate, Mr. Thurston, Mr. Tanguay, and others who made our visit to the Greenhouse and THMS a great learning and fun experience. We were able to plant 3 1/2 large flats of seeds (soon to be seedlints) and take a nice hike around the trails behind the school. Just what I needed, a little dirt, fresh air, seeing some old friends, and meeting some new ones.

    Thanks,

    Mr. Anderson

  2. Mrs. Cox Says:

    Drinkwater 4th and 5th graders had a great time getting their hands in the soil. It is such a wonderful way to make their studies real. We are all looking forward to having some worms and reactivating our composting program.
    Our seeds are sprouting – I hope we can get them into the garden before school gets out!

  3. ashley s. keene Says:

    Dear garden project,

    You have taught me loads of things!Fungus Bacteria Insects!Soil is on the ground and dirt is under your fingernails!Organic matter is on the ground.The Green House rocks!!!!!!!

  4. Caelyn Says:

    Dear Garden Project,
    I learned what the soil organics FBI is, it’s F-Fungus, B-Bacteria, and I-Insects.

  5. Logan Says:

    Dear Garden Project,
    I ejoyed learning about FBI, fungus, bacteria, and incects. FBI
    is three ingrdients for soil. I also enjoyed inside the big greenhouse.[There’s alot of bugs inside.] The best part was making wormhomes.

  6. Damien Says:

    Dear Garden Project,
    I learned that newspapper helps the worms in the worm bin.Also that it keeps them nice and moisturize.I learned about FBI fungus,bacteria,insects.I had alot of fun there helping out.

  7. Jade Armstrong Says:

    Dear Garden Project,
    I had fun learning about FBI I also reamember what FBI
    means. Fungus
    Bacteria
    Insects

  8. kendra Says:

    Dear Garden project,
    I have learned that the FBI stands for.
    F=Fungus
    B=Backtiria
    I=Insects
    I got to see the different layers of soil online,but then I got to see the layers of soil in real life.I think the last layer is very cool,because it feels like clay,it is clay.
    From
    Kendra

  9. Emily Says:

    Dear,Garden Project
    I learned about FBI, the layers of soil, and dirt is under our fingernials, soil is under our feet. I also learned about A
    horizon and B horizon. I love getting dirty!

  10. Bethani Says:

    Dear Garden Project,
    I learned that soil is made up of living and dead things, minerals, water and air. I had a lot fo fun leaning about soil.

  11. will Says:

    Dear Garden Project,
    I really like the garden project because we get to go outside and learn about something fun and it’s all hands on activities like planting, scooping compost and making compost and it’s nice meeting our next year peers.

  12. Hannah Says:

    Dear Garden Project,
    I loved learning about soils! It was a lot of fun! I learned what FBI means, it means Fungus Bacteria Insects!I had a lot of fun planting, puting food in the bird feeders, and geting dirty!Thanks so much!

  13. Lacey Says:

    Dear Garden Project,
    I really enjoyed our visits to the green house. I learned a lot. One thing I learned is that there is an A horizon, a B horizon, and a B2 horizon in soil. I also learned that soil is made from living organics, dead organics (fungus, bacteria, and insects,) minerals, water and air. We also worked with worms. They stunk but it was fun anyway. I hope we can come back again.

  14. Bethani Says:

    Dear Garden Project,
    I learned that soil is made up of living and dead things, minerals, water and air. I had a lot fo fun leaning about soil.
    good by.

  15. Jessica Says:

    Dear garden project
    I had a great time learning about the fbi “fungus, bacteria, insects.” I hope we can come back soon. We all had a good tine doing activities and getting dirty.

  16. Allie 'N Says:

    Flowers, Corn, Tomatoes, WORMS!!! What more could this Garden Have.


Leave a Reply

