Ames School Students get Worms :-)

patty2.jpgThe Ames School Fifth Graders had a great trip to the THMS garden last week. They went on student led tours, planted milkweed, made worm farms, spread compost/woodchips and cleared some sod. After all, if you can’t put in the effort there is usually little reward. Our students really enjoyed working with the Ames students in the garden and hope to have them back real soon.

patty1.jpgSome of their worm questions:

Do I and how often to I put any water in for moisture?

How often do we stir around the contents?

Once a week feeding enough?

Should I add anymore material ( leaves, etc) as the month goes on?patty4.jpg

One Response to “Ames School Students get Worms :-)”

  1. gardenproject Says:

    Steve and Jon, thanks for yesterday, my kids talked about it all afternoon! Tell your kiddos that they did a great job being our guides as well. I brought in some newspaper to line their container as bedding. I have a few questions to make sure I do it right.

    Do I and how often to I put any water in for moisture?
    How often do we stir around the contents?
    Once a week feeding enough?
    Should I add anymore material ( leaves, etc) as the month goes on?

    Thanks!! Patty


Leave a Reply

